Please Wait, Loading Content...

Chiefs claim back-to-back Super Bowl titles with overtime win

Super Bowl LVIII

The Kansas City Chiefs overcame a halftime deficit to defeat the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl LVIII on Sunday night, becoming the first team in nearly two decades to claim back-to-back titles.

The defending champions were largely outplayed in the first half, with quarterback Brock Purdy steering the 49ers to a 10-3 lead with an assured performance.

However, Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs ramped up the pressure after the main break and did enough to force the game to overtime at 19-19.

The 49ers took possession first in OT and managed a three-point drive, but that advantage was always going to be tenuous once Mahomes took control of the ball.

The Kansas City superstar did not disappoint, working his side to the San Francisco three-yard line before clinching it with a touchdown pass to Mecole Hardman Jr in the final play of the day.

With that, the Chiefs clinched their third Super Bowl win in five years as Mahomes became just the third player in NFL history to win three Super Bowl MVP awards.

Legendary 49ers quarterback Joe Montana was the first to do it, while only Tom Brady — four times with the New England Patriots, once with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers — has earned more than three Super Bowl MVP nods.

The last team to win consecutive Super Bowls was the New England Patriots in 2004 and 2005, with Brady at the helm.

Sports betting picks

, , , , ,
Share this post on:

Join the Betting Planet team!

Are you passionate about sports betting? Sports news writers required TODAY!

Experienced preferred but not essential. (All apps considered).

View Careers at Race Media
  • Live Betting Odds
  • Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Top Online Casinos

  • Bitcoin Friendly
    100% up to $3000