Please Wait, Loading Content...

Chiesa vs. Magny Main Card Betting Preview & Top Predictions |UFC

UFC Fight Night : Chiesa vs. Magny Main Card Betting Preview

Main Card UFC Fight Night Odds & Betting Predictions
When Wednesday, January 20 2021 – 11:00am CT
Where UFC Fight Island – Abu Dhabi United Arab Emirates
Watch Live ESPN+, UFC Fight Pass, UFC.com

UFC Fight Night: Chiesa vs. Magny Card Betting Preview

Our second UFC Fight night in four days brings us a top 10 Welterweight headliner along with plenty of other action. Let’s take a look at the best bets for the main card of UFC Fight Night: Chiesa vs. Magny.

Lerone Murphy vs. Douglas Silva de Andrade

Latest Odds & Fight Info
UFC Betting Odds Murphy -312.5 at BetOnline | Andrade +250 at BetOnline
UFC Weight Division Featherweight: Minimum 135 lb (61.2 kg; 9.6 st) | Maximum 145 lb (65.8 kg; 10.4 st)
We start the Fight Night Main Card with a featherweight bout between Lerone Murphy (9-0-1) facing Douglas Silva De Andrade (26-3-0). The undefeated Murphy is coming off of a July 2020 knockout of Ricardo Ramos while De Andrade is coming off of a unanimous decision victory over Renan Barao in November of 2019. Murphy is 6-0 by knockout, 0-0 by submission, and 3-0-1 by decision. De Andrade is 19-1 by knockout, 1-1 by submission, and 6-1 by decision. The hype of an undefeated Murphy at -310 is not enough for me here. I am going to take my shot on the experienced underdog in Douglas Silva de Andrade.

Douglas Silva by Decision

+250 @ BetOnline

Matt Schnell vs. Tyson Nam

Latest Odds & Fight Info
UFC Betting Odds Schnell +110 at BetOnline | Nam -129.87 at BetOnline
UFC Weight Division Flyweight: Minimum 115 lb (52.2 kg; 8.2 st) | Maximum 125 lb (56.7 kg; 8.9 st)
No. 9 Matt Schnell (14-5-0) meets No. 13 Tyson Nam (20-11-1) for our featured flyweight bout of the main card. Schnell is coming into this fight after losing by knockout to Alexandre Pantoja in December 2019. Nam is coming off of a September 2020 knockout win over Jerome Rivera. Schnell is 2-3 by KO/TKO, 8-1 by submission, and 4-1 by decision in his career. Nam is 11-3 by KO/TKO, 1-0 by submission, and 8-8-1 by decision in his career. Schnell seems to be the better fighter on the ground in this fight, but the question is if he can get it there or will Nam take care of business on the feet? I believe Tyson Nam will ride his two-fight win streak and potentially get himself a spot in the top 10 of the division.

Tyson Nam by Decision

-129.87 @ BetOnline

Roxanne Modafferi vs. Viviane Araujo

Latest Odds & Fight Info
UFC Betting Odds Modafferi +265 at BetOnline | Araujo -312.5 at BetOnline
UFC Weight Division Women’s Flyweight: Minimum 115 lb (52.2 kg; 8.2 st) | Maximum 125 lb (56.7 kg; 8.9 st)
No. 8 Roxanne Modafferi (25-18-0) takes on No. 9 Viviane Araujo (9-2-0) in our third main card battle. Modafferi is entering the contest after a unanimous decision win over Andrea Lee in September of 2020. Araujo is coming off a September 2020 unanimous decision win of her own over Montana De La Rosa. Modafferi has a veteran’s record in the fight game, going 4-1 by KO/TKO, 5-3 by Submission, and 16-14 by decision in her career. Araujo is 3-1 KO/TKO, 4-0 by submission, and 2-1 by decision in her career. An interesting trend is that in her last 7 fights Roxanne Modafferi has alternated a win and a loss. At this rate, she would be due for a loss. Do with this trend what you wish. I believe Viviane Araujo’s speed will be an issue for Modafferi, so I will take the favorite here although I am not excited about the -315 odds, so maybe a safer bet would be to put her winning in a parlay.

Viviane Araujo by Decision

-312.5 @ BetOnline

Ike Villanueva vs. Vinicius Moreira

Latest Odds & Fight Info
UFC Betting Odds Villanueva -135.14 at BetOnline | Moreira +116 at BetOnline
UFC Weight Division Light Heavyweight: Minimum 185 lb (83.9 kg; 13.2 st) | Maximum 205 lb (93.0 kg; 14.6 st)
Ike Villanueva (16-11-0) takes on Vinicius Moreira (9-4-0) in our fourth main card matchup. Villanueva is coming off a TKO Doctor’s stoppage loss to Jordan Wright in August 2020, and Moreira is entering this fight after a submission loss to Paul Craig in September 2019. Neither of these fighters have an official UFC win minus Moreira winning on Dana White’s Contender Series. I predict this be grappling vs. striking given the two fighters’ resumes. Moreira is 1-3 by KO/TKO, 8-1 by submission, and has had no fight go to decision. Villanueva is 13-5 by KO/TKO, 0-5 by Submission, and 3-1 by decision in his career. I don’t see this fight going the distance, as none of Moreira’s fights have made it past the 2nd round. This justifies the O/U being at 1.5 rounds for the fight. In this matchup, I like Vinicius Moreira to win straight up.

Vinicius Moreira by Decision

+115 @ BetOnline

Warlley Alves vs. Mounir Lazzez

Latest Odds & Fight Info
UFC Betting Odds Alves +200 at BetOnline | Lazzez -232.56 at BetOnline
UFC Weight Division Welterweight: Minimum 155 lb (70.3 kg; 11.1 st) | Maximum 170 lb (77.1 kg; 12.1 st)
Our second to last main card fight features Warlley Alves (14-4-0) vs. Mounir Lazzez (10-1-0). Alves is coming off of a November 2019 submission loss to Randy Brown, and Lazzez is coming off a unanimous decision win over Abdul Razak Alhassan in his July 2020 UFC debut. This fight is a combination of styles, with Warlley Alves being a Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu practitioner and Mounir Lazzez more of a striker. Alves is 3-1 by KO/TKO, 7-1 by submission, and 4-2 by decision. Lazzez is 8-0 by KO/TKO, 0-0 by submission, and 2-1 by decision. Something to keep in mind is that although Warlley Alves is younger, he has more UFC experience with 10 UFC events not including 2 The Ultimate Fighter appearances. Mounir Lazzez only has his single UFC bout under his belt but impressed viewers in his debut. It will be interesting to see how he does against someone with submission potential, though. For my pick I lean Mounir Lazzez to stand up to the test, with a KO/TKO prop.

Mounir Lazzez by KO/TKO

+140 @ BetOnline

Michael Chiesa vs. Neil Magny

Latest Odds & Fight Info
UFC Betting Odds Chiesa +125 at BetOnline | Magny -144.93 at BetOnline
UFC Weight Division Welterweight: Minimum 155 lb (70.3 kg; 11.1 st) | Maximum 170 lb (77.1 kg; 12.1 st)
Welcome to the main event! No. 8 Welterweight Michael “Maverick” Chiesa (17-4-0) is taking on No. 9 Welterweight Neil “The Haitian Sensation” Magny (24-8-0). Both of these men are coming off of 3-fight win streaks. Michael Chiesa defeated Rafael dos Anjos by Unanimous Decision in late January of 2020, while Neil Magny notched a Unanimous Decision of his own against Robby Lawler in August of 2020. Both of these men have wrestling tendencies so I wouldn’t be surprised to see a decent amount of this fight on the ground and in the clinch. With Chiesa’s last two and Magny’s last three fights going the distance, I like this fight hitting the over on rounds and likely going to decision. The main path to victory for Michael Chiesa in his career has been by submission, having an 11-3 Submission record wins won this way. He is 0-1 in fights that end in KO. Neil Magny on the other hand has a 7-3 KO/TKO record and a 3-4 submission record on his resume, so he is a little more diverse in his attack. Chiesa is 6-0 in fights that go the distance. Magny is 14-1 when it comes to fights that go the distance. I expect a diverse fight, with some stand up and grappling. In the end, I side with the stamina of Neil Magny and expect him to do enough to have his hand raised in the end of this main event.

Neil Magny by decision

-144.93 @ BetOnline

Over 4.5 Rounds

-185.19 @ BetOnline

See Also: All the latest BettingPlanet tips & predictions

Share this post on:

Best Bookmakers & Sportsbooks

  • Fast Payouts
    50% matched deposit up to USD $5,000

  • Live Betting Odds
    Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Top Online Casinos

  • Trusted brand
    100% up to $1000

  • Bitcoin Friendly
    100% up to $3000