Please Wait, Loading Content...

Australian Prime Minister’s XIII squads revealed for PNG clash

In the lead up, to the NRL grand final it has been announced that Cameron Murray, the captain of South Sydney will be leading the Prime Ministers XIII in a match against Papua New Guinea PMs XIII in Port Moresby.This special squad comprises players from teams that are no longer in the NRL finals.

It gives us some insight into coach Mal Meninga’s thoughts for postseason tests. Interestingly, Cowboys star Valentine Holmes is not included in the lineup as he is currently under investigation by the NRL due to a social media post.

The Australian squad includes eight players from the 2022 World Cup winning Kangaroos squad, including Nicho Hynes.

He sees this match as an opportunity to strengthen his case for national team selection. With players like Latrell Mitchell and Tom Trbojevic sidelined due to injuries, there is potential for the Kangaroos to consider players from teams still competing in the NRL finals, such as Penrith, the Brisbane Broncos and the Melbourne Storm.

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese, who supports having a PNG NRL team has emphasized how important this match is for strengthening friendship and partnership between Papua New Guinea and Australia.

Additionally apart from the mens team there will also be a women’s Prime Ministers XIII selected which will provide opportunities, for emerging NRLW players.These matches have a meaning as they promote friendship and cooperation, between the two nations.

After these exhibitions the focus will shift to the Pacific Championship taking place month.It’s an event where Australia will compete against Samoa, Tonga and New Zealand.

Cameron Murray will lead the squad, which includes players like Daly Cherry Evans and World Cup champions.

Moreover there are promising talents such as Tyrell Sloan and Alofiana Khan Pereira who are making their mark. This combination of players and young talents perfectly demonstrates Australias commitment, to promoting rugby league growth in the region.

2023 Australian Men’s Prime Minister XIII Team List

Australian Men’s Prime Minister XIII

  1. Josh Addo-Carr (Bulldogs)
  2. Daly Cherry-Evans (vc) (Sea Eagles)
  3. Reuben Cotter (Cowboys)
  4. Tom Dearden (Cowboys)
  5. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Titans)
  6. Emre Guler (Raiders)
  7. Ben Hunt (Dragons)
  8. Nicho Hynes (Sharks)
  9. Alofiana Khan-Pereira (Titans)
  10. Zac Lomax (Dragons)
  11. Cameron McInnes (Sharks)
  12. Cameron Murray (c) (Rabbitohs)
  13. Reece Robson (Cowboys)
  14. Tyrell Sloan (Dragons)
  15. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (Dolphins)
  16. Murray Taulagi (Cowboys)
  17. Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
  18. Cody Walker (Rabbitohs)
  19. Hudson Young (Raiders)

2023 Australian Women’s Prime Minister XIII Team List

Australian Women’s Prime Minister XIII

  1. Teagan Berry (Dragons)
  2. Kennedy Cherrington (vc) (Eels)
  3. Rueben Cherrington (Eels)
  4. Abbi Church (Eels)
  5. Keisha-Leigh Coolwell (Broncos)
  6. Quincy Dodd (Sharks)
  7. Kayla Fleming (First Nations Gems)
  8. Tallisha Harden (c) (Cowboys)
  9. Kimberley Hunt (Eels)
  10. Emma Manzelmann (Cowboys)
  11. Jasmin Morrissey (First Nations Gems)
  12. Rachael Pearson (Eels)
  13. Christian Pio (Tigers)
  14. China Polada (Cowboys)
  15. Tiana Rafstrand-Smith (Cowboys)
  16. Taneka Todhunter (Eels)
  17. Cassey Tohi-Hiku (Eels)
  18. Botille Vette-Welsh (Tigers)
  19. Jakiya Whitfield (Tigers)
  20. Janelle Williams (Raiders)

More sports news

, , ,
Share this post on:

Join the Betting Planet team!

Are you passionate about sports betting? Sports news writers required TODAY!

Experienced preferred but not essential. (All apps considered).

View Careers at Race Media
  • Live Betting Odds
  • Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Top Online Casinos