Please Wait, Loading Content...

Is there still punting value in the 2016 Twenty20 World Cup?

AND then there were three.

England defeated New Zealand by seven wickets on Wednesday night to book a spot in the 2016 World Twenty20 final, which is slated for Sunday, April 3 in Kolkata.

They will be joined at Eden Gardens by either India or the West Indies, who are set to face off in the second semifinal on Thursday evening in Mumbai.

The departure of the Kiwis, who were the only unbeaten team after the group stage, ensures that one of the remaining sides will be the first to win the T20 World Cup on two separate occasions.

India took out the inaugural title back in 2007, England stunned Australia in the 2010 final in the Caribbean, and the West Indies smashed the hosts at Sri Lanka 2012.

MS Dhoni’s men, playing on home soil in front of their adoring local fans, are poised to deliver on their pre-tournament favouritism after a rocky group stage.

Both the Lions and the Windies started as outsiders among the big eight Test nations, but have they earned some newfound love in the Twenty20 futures markets?

Let’s check in with our top-ranked T20 cricket betting sites and see where the money is at.

Twenty20 World Cup outright betting

India remain odds-on to become the first host nation to lift the ICC World T20 trophy, according to leading online bookmakers.

They are paying $2.20 outright at, while England are hot on their heels at $2.30 in CrownBet’s Twenty20 futures betting.

With the favourites still to negotiate in the semis, West Indies are the $6 long-shots.

India – $2.20 (Bet365)

England – $2.30 (CrownBet)

West Indies – $6 (CrownBet)

Top tournament batsman odds

With only two games to go, only a handful of serious contenders remain in the 2016 T20 World Cup leading runscorer betting.

Virat Kohli is the obvious $2.10 frontrunner at Bet365, having notched 184 runs at an average of 92.00 during the Super 10 fixtures.

Next best is England’s Joe Root ($3), the current leader in the batting charts, while Jason Roy’s match-winning 78 against New Zealand has seen him shorten to $5.

Chris Gayle ($13) is fourth in line, despite having batted only twice thus far at India 2016, ahead of English keeper-slogger Jos Buttler ($21).

The only other man under triple figures is Dhoni ($81), who would need to score at least 122 runs in two games to surpass Root – and that’s assuming Kohli, Roy and the rest do nothing from here on.

Virat Kohli (IND) – $2.10

Joe Root (ENG) – $3

Jason Roy (ENG) – $5

Chris Gayle (WI) – $13

Jos Buttler (ENG) – $21

MS Dhoni (IND) – $81

Marlon Samuels (WI) – $126

Shikhar Dhawan (IND) – $151

Alex Hales (ENG) – $151

Rohit Sharma (IND) – $151

Johnson Charles (WI) – $501

Andre Russell (WI) – $751

Odds provided by

Leading wicket-taker T20 markets

NZ are out, but Mitchell Santner will be hard to catch at $1.72 in the top bowler betting at

The young Kiwi spinner finished with 10 wickets for the tournament, just edging his teammate Ish Sodhi for strike rate and bowling average.

Andre Russell ($7) is Santner’s closest rival with seven victims in four games, while his Caribbean chums Samuel Badree ($9) and Dwayne Bravo ($10) have six apiece.

David Willey ($13) is the best of the English bets, as Chris Jordan ($26) needs to collect at least five scalps in the final to be in with a shout.

Hardik Pandya ($26) is the surprise frontrunner among India’s spinners, leading the team bowling charts ahead of both Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja (each $29).

Mitchell Santner (NZ) – $1.72

Andre Russell (WI) – $7

Samuel Badree (WI) – $9

Dwayne Bravo (WI) – $10

David Willey (ENG) – $13

Chris Jordan (ENG) – $26

Hardik Pandya (IND) – $26

Ravichandran Ashwin (IND) – $29

Ravi Jadeja (IND) – $29

Ashish Nehra (IND) – $34

Jasprit Bumrah (IND) – $81

Odds provided by

World Twenty20 team specials at

The bookies have declared ‘King Kohli’ home and hosed as India’s top batsman of Twenty20 World Cup 2016, but you can still get on plenty of T20 team betting specials at our top-ranked cricket sportsbooks online.

India top bowler

R Ashwin – $4 (Sportsbet)

Hardik Pandya – $4 (Sportsbet)

Ravi Jadeja – $4.25 (Luxbet)

Ashish Nehra – $4.50 (Luxbet)

Jasprit Bumrah – $9 (Bet365)

Suresh Raina – $13 (Luxbet)

England top batsman

Joe Root – $1.72 (Bet365)

Jason Roy – $2.75 (Sportsbet)

Jos Buttler – $19 (Bet365)

England top bowler

David Willey – $2.20 (Sportsbet)

Chris Jordan – $3.75 (Bet365)

Moeen Ali – $11 (Bet365)

Adil Rashid – $15 (Bet365)

Ben Stokes – $21 (Sportsbet)

West Indies top batsman

Chris Gayle – $1.83 (Sportsbet)

Andre Fletcher – $3.75 (Luxbet)

Marlon Samuels – $4.33 (Sportsbet)

Johnson Charles – $21 (Luxbet)

Andre Russell – $26 (Sportsbet)

West Indies top bowler

Andre Russel – $2.75 (Bet365)

Dwayne Bravo – $2.87 (Bet365)

Samuel Badree – $2.88 (Sportsbet)

Sulieman Benn – $41 (Bet365)

, ,
Share this post on:

Join the Betting Planet team!

Are you passionate about sports betting? Sports news writers required TODAY!

Experienced preferred but not essential. (All apps considered).

View Careers at Race Media
  • Live Betting Odds
  • Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250

Top Online Casinos